from such great heights

time lapse

Posted in life by chapwoman on December 31, 2009

December 31, 1999

I was eleven years old. In Ms. Clarke’s fifth grade class at Grace Christian School. I wore Roxy t-shirts with shorts and Adidas. Probably my third pair. Hair pulled back in a messy bun. Played my first season of basketball and loved it. Read every page of The Chronicles of Narnia. Got a keyboard for Christmas and did not play it as much as I should have. “Will 2K” and “Party Like it’s 1999” were playing on the radio on the way to Kayla’s house. Fear of Y2K everywhere. Everywhere.

December 31, 2009

I am twenty-one years old. In my third year of architecture at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. I wear cardigans with scarves and Rainbow sandals. One of three pairs. Wavy hair from when I wake up. Ran my first race longer than a 5k and loved it. Read every page of The Fountainhead. Got a Denali fleece for Christmas and will wear the crap out of it. “Bad Romance” and “Empire State of Mind” were playing on the radio this morning. Fear of adulthood. All the time.

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

