from such great heights

today i opened my notebook

Posted in life by chapwoman on December 16, 2009

….

{beautiful watercolor via keinyo white}

there exists a word that has me in chains, the same word that has been breaking me since september, been breaking me since i can remember.

this word took me on an adventure this quarter, an emotional one to say the least, and in the fullness of its definition this word led me to blame someone else for my folly. and for this, i am incredibly, incredibly ashamed.

this word led me to believe that i am allowed to expect things, that i deserve answers, that i can cookie-cut God into my life where I think He should show up.

this word has satan wrapped up in my mirror, leaving me desolate in a place of sadness.

and it breaks me — over and over again.

this word is pride.

but today i opened my notebook and was humbled by these divine words:

“our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name.
your kingdom come,
your will be done
on earth as it is in heaven.
give us today our daily bread.
forgive us our debts,
as we also have forgiven our debtors.
and lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from evil.”

Jesus is my purpose. His kingdom is my calling.  And His will — it will be done.
And in the process, pride shall be conquered and I shall be broken, because it isn’t about me.

“Not to us, O Lord, not to us
but to your name be the glory.”
[psalm 115:1]


One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Adriana said, on December 19, 2009 at 7:24 am

    Hi Kayla! The Italian men are creepy…not even joking…I get comments almost every time I go out! If you have any questions about Italy or the application or if you want any advice…let me know! Send me a message on facebook or something…facebook.com/acservin. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

