from such great heights

sculpture

Posted in life by chapwoman on October 19, 2009

this is too much for me, my dear,
too heavy and lame and limp;
a silent chord struck day after day
begins to chip away my poise and my pride;
it chips away pieces of the life
that scream
“I am wonderful!”
See the fragments of my untold story:
one of butterflies and silent victories,
one of pains and insecurities
underneath your clumsy feet.
You have such clumsy feet!

though I stand here entirely,
with pieces scattered about recklessly,
I am still shaped by the majority of me —
a shape so strong and pure and lovely
that your effortless scrapes could never maim it,
not even slightly.

Leave a Reply

