from such great heights

a good start

Posted in life by chapwoman on October 13, 2009

Sunday definitely made the “Most Memorable Days of My Life” list.

The morning was gray and gloomy, but my heart was jumping with excitement at the start line downtown.  Of all the runs I’ve ever done, this one (believe it or not) was the least nerve-wracking. Maybe it was the 600 eager runners keeping me company in front of Peet’s Coffee. Maybe it was the five-week training under my belt.  Maybe it was seeing the same excitement on the faces of my running partners, Juli and Andrew.  Or maybe–like the other dozens of times I’d laced my shoelaces to set out for a long run with a true desire in my heart–it was the Holy Spirit fueling me with confidence that I’d finish just fine.

But it wasn’t just fine–it was amazing! Everything, from the aromatic apple orchards in Avila to the lines of stopped traffic waiting for us to pass, from the encouraging words of road-side supporters and friends to that view of the Pacific Ocean after topping the hill that almost took me out.  All of it was amazing.

Jessica, Christina, Kirsten, Kami, Jon, Sean, Brita, Sam, Lyssia, and Cassie:  Thank you (!) for your prayers and your encouragement this weekend.  You have no idea how glad I was to see you there or how much momentum you gave me in those last two miles.

What a good start of third year.

So friends…when are we signing up for another one?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. karly said, on October 14, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    im so proud of you. rocking the runner look and that empire state of mind.. yes amazing song! hah i love you and wish you a great and “soggy” week! see you soon

  2. partner for life said, on October 14, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    I AM SOOOOO PROUD OF YOU!!!! i so wish i could have been there to cheer you on. when i was reading this i was a lil jealous of all your friends who could come and support you, i was like man. i wish i could have been there. sometimes being long distance friendships sucks BALLS. lol. but none the less. im quite proud of you.


Leave a Reply

