from such great heights

square one

Posted in life by chapwoman on April 12, 2009

flickr is onto something. it has successfully coined the term “interestingness,” which is simply a measurement of how intriguing someone’s uploaded photo is.  usually the images with high “interestingness” grab my eye for the composition or the rawness or the details that average viewers gloss over.  these images get to the heart of the subject, portraying something so simply, that beauty has nowhere to go but outward.  these images inspire me. they inspire me to seek this level of “interestingness” in my own life.

i have two scholarship essays looming over my head this week…and do i want write them? pssh. suuuuuuure. i love writing about myself and what i want to do “when i grow up” (because I know exACTly what that is at 20 years old).  though it’s  a tedious task writing about my career goals and what i want to contribute to the world in this lifetime, scholarship season truly brings me back to square one: why am i pursuing architecture?

well

i am fascinated by design, that creating something essentially comes from a place in my mind that i don’t even know exists.  i am fascinated that an idea springs up from some corner of my imagination, and  i can draw that idea on a piece of paper, and i can talk about it as though it exists, and i can put my hands on materials to physically build that idea for others to see with me. that is why i am pursuing architecture.  not because i have this beautiful picture of what my life looks like or because i want to contribute some novel idea to the world, but because i know deep down in my soul exists a passion that i can’t even wrap my mind around.  there is so much “interestingness” in the world around us.  i just want to build more of it.

unfortunately, i have to keep reminding myself that this is why I am in school, this is why God gave me my passion and talent.  my love for design often gets clouded by project deadlines and what “cool” architecture looks like and what rendering programs i need to install in order to be “successful.”  but the truth is, “interestingness” stands out in design no matter what the medium.  if i manage to create something interesting while i’m here at cal poly, then i think i’ll be onto something too.

c’est la vie,
Chappie

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. blohmkid said, on April 13, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    … i think you’re already onto something.

  2. blohmkid said, on April 14, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    i think you could take it to a whole other level.

    what if you could develop your sense of “interestingness” so that it truly embodies the passion in your heart – but not only from a design perspective? if you could build from whatever inspires and ignites your soul? translate the intangible ideas with an expressed beauty as you mentioned, but also with a beauty of “interestingness” that you see and find in your own life?

    just a thought.

  3. blohmkid said, on April 14, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    actually i don’t think. i know you’re already onto something. your work, it’s already “interesting” – if not more than that. so “what next?” is the question i’m trying to get at. can you take it one step further?

    if the paragraph long question/comment above doesn’t qualify as creepy, commenting three times in two days on one post sure does… sorry.


Leave a Reply

