from such great heights

raging on beach blvd.

Posted in life by chapwoman on December 17, 2008

p1100050

we all make poor decisions, and this was mine: i got in my toyota corolla when it was raining.

in case you’re not from southern california, we have a daily battle out there on the streets called TRAFFIC.  put a rain storm on top of our Golden State Driving Fiasco and it honestly becomes a do-or-die situation.  so why did i get into my car on a rainy day? clearly, i wasn’t thinking.

there’s something about LA traffic that just riles me up, bringing out emotions that i’m pretty sure God didn’t intend for the human race.  but these emotions inevitably come out when i’m on the road with a bunch of crazies.  now I’m not deeming myself the “world’s best driver” (because I’m not), but seriously people, channel your brain power.  especially when operating a vehicle. ESPECIALLY when it’s raining.

my first opponent on this paved battlefield is Mr. “I’m-not-gonna-look-over-my-shoulder-when-switching-lanes.” thanks to him, I almost got run off the road this morning… Seriously dude, can you just let me get to the post office safely? it’s only a block away from my house and I REALLY don’t need any of your sass.  luckily i channeled my mario-kart driving skills and quick-wittedly swerved to the left without any problems.

then there’s the genius who drives in the adjacent lane with her left-blinker on for half-a-mile:
“thank you for actually signaling before changing lanes,” i think to myself and give her plenty of room to merge.
“ummmm, i’m giving you plenty of room…go ahead.”
“no, i insist. you can merge whenever you’d like.”
“i’m going UNDER the speed limit just for you.  MOVE OVER ALREADY.”
then it hits me: “oooooooh. you just have your blinker on because you FORGOT YOU STILL HAVE IT ON from when you merged a mile ago.”
thanks.
and then I speed up, angry that she didn’t take advantage of my polite gesture.

and my favorite: the cellular rebel. you know who I’m talking about: Mr. “I-have-an-important-business-call” dressed in an armani suit driving his black mercedes benz.  i’m pretty sure that the California State Law banning cell-phone usage includes you, buddy.  so GET OFF YOUR PHONE and drive like someone who passed their DMV test at some point in his life.  There’s no need to ride your brake; nobody’s in front of you.  Oh! no need to brake here either; the light’s green. Sir, you’re really not fooling anyone…you can obviously afford a bluetooth with that blackberry. Put one on your Christmas list for the sake of us law-abiding drivers.

from now on, i’m just gonna stay put in the safety of my home. no need for the automotive battle out there and definitely no need to bring out my road-rage.  this just can’t be good for my health…

C’est la vie,
Chappie

oh shoot. i need to pick my sister up from school and it’s STILL raining…

Leave a Reply

