from such great heights

this one’s for Y-O-U

Posted in life by chapwoman on July 28, 2008

i’ve been a blogger for quite some time now.

…since 9th grade actually, back when Xanga was “in.”

I started blogging in high school as an avenue to vent my frustrations with 5 hours of nightly homework. and to meander through random teenage thoughts. and to squeal about little details involving Johnny Hunt, the boy I was madly in love with at the time.

ever since then, I’ve grown tremendously. (although I still vent and meander and squeal…sometimes at the same time). but I’ve realized that one thing always remains constant for “blauthors” (blogger + author = blauthor), no matter which website you’re signed up for or how old you are.

that one constant is how my posts are always propelled by my readers. they are influenced by Y-O-U. now don’t you feel special?

whether it’s for the newspaper or for television scripts or even an online journal, writing is always done with an audience in mind. my audience varies, ranging from close friends to complete strangers roaming cyberspace, but I have mental images of who reads posts and I can just imagine how each person experiences them. For example:

_i know my friend Alaska reads my posts because she leaves me little comments here and there. it’s a way for her to keep up on my life, since we only talk every couple weeks or so.

_i know my sister is a reader because she usually asks me about a certain posts and also feels more connected to me when I’m four hours away for school.

_i know my friend Anna “drinks in the words of my blog” because she tells me so. I write creatively for her because I know she keeps up on many other blogs…and her comments, I adore.

_i know an ex-boyfriend reads my posts because he leaves comments using aliases like “Julie” and “Samantha” as an attempt to reach me, since I stopped talking to him back in October. and that dumbass thought he was so sly about it too…haha

_i know my Resident Advisor Xander even reads my posts because he finally confessed the truth at the end of the year.

_i know my friend Jessica reads my blog while she is away on the east coast at Brown. she has been a faithful reader since high school and with this three-hour time difference, we rarely talk as much as we should. Jessi is one of the best writers I’ve ever met, so I try to keep her attention as long as possible.

_i also know random readers surfing the web read my blog because they leave the most comments. anonymous readers are a great audience because it’s always a mystery how they will respond to one of my posts. thankfully, they are usually the most brutally honest and most graceful with words.

my friend Tina from high school recently told me that she reads my blog even though we haven’t talked in months. and that was so gratifying to hear because all I ever see are stats of “blog hits,” anonymous numbers telling me how many people visited this page. it’s all completely vague and unknown and disconnected, this blogging thing.

that is, of course, if you leave me comments (which I LOVE reading).

or tell me personally.

so IF YOU READ MY BLOG, whether it’s everyday or every other month, tell me because I would LOVE to match the data with names.  if you’re feeling daring, just leave a comment.

c’est la vie,
Chappie

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. foxystina20 said, on July 28, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    I definitely agree that we are blogging for others and not just ourselves. Great post! It’s amazing how blogging can keep everyone connected with friend, family, even strangers.

  2. damyantig said, on July 28, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    I love this whole concept of blogging….and feel hurt when people pass on without commenting….I get 70 visitors and no comments sometimes, so I know what you feel like. This is my first time on your blog, and I hope to come by again.

  3. Anna Clauson said, on July 31, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    to my dear friend– i must admit…i got a a slight (if not pathetic) thrill from getting a shout-out in your blog! haha. i read your words and am oh-so-glad that we were brought together to be friends who share breakfast and laughter and cyber-space reflections. well, at least you share cyber-space reflections. and i am thankful for it. love you. –your friendie

    p.s. i got back from my little beach trip this evening. and i just got your text message. i’m not sure when you sent it…but i will call you tomorrow to set up a hang sesh.

  4. Partner for life said, on August 2, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    i too have become a faithful reader of your awesome blog =) i every so often check to see if you have left a post. i like knowing whats happening in that life of yours… since im like thousands of miles away from you haha and secretly im like totally jealous… if only i could write like you .. and even write in a consistant manner for that matter… haha im sooo not a blogger but i wish i was! love love looooove youuu!

  5. John Sohn said, on August 8, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    Haha, I started blogging recently, too. I’ll add you to my bloglist. Hopefully we can catch up on each others’ lives this way!

  6. Shayla Michel said, on August 20, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Kayla. It’s your good friend Shayla from project :) I just wanted you to know that I read your blog….and that I’m considering starting one, I just haven’t gotten the courage yet. (and I’m not sure that anyone would read it..or what I would write). Anyway, I love and miss you. I hope you are enjoying beautiful socal!!

  7. Angela said, on September 21, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    hey, i found your blog while searching for little tid bits of information about cal poly slo and the sequoia dorm. it was interesting to read. i know live in the sequoia dorm, and its interesting to think that you go to SLO as well.
    whatever you write is always interesting and i love reading it. you have a way of writing that is kind of calm, but i still feel and see all of the emotions you convey.
    that might be a bit confusing, so im sorry, but thank you for posting your life in sequoia and making me feel better about coming here!

  8. sandrar said, on September 10, 2009 at 5:49 am

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

