from such great heights

architorture

Posted in life by chapwoman on June 8, 2008

Architecture has the ability to stop time, to stop life.

I’ve never pulled an all-nighter for school in my life. And I pulled two this week–not one, but TWO. It might not seem like a big deal, but for someone who never stayed up past 9 pm in high school doing homework, it’s a big deal. I even made a vow at the beginning of this year that I’d never pull an all-nighter in college. “It doesn’t matter how much work I have to do, sleep is always more important.” Yeah, apparently, I don’t know myself at all.

The past week was definitely a struggle though. All the work I had to do for speech and architecture just consumed me and put life on the back burner. Not only did the workload rob me of sweet slumber, it completely shut my appetite off. If I remember correctly, I went both Wednesday and Thursday without breakfast or dinner. And a few Nilla wafers as lunch. Sweet. So not only was I a walking zombie, I was a walking starving zombie.

Let’s not do that anymore…save the all-nighters for when absolutely necessary. I’m not a fan of staying up all night because I have this weird fear that the next day while walking to class, I’ll suddenly crash from exhaustion both mentally and physically. It didn’t quite happen that way, thanks to butterscotch lattes from Julian’s, but the three days I lived this week connected by only 5 hours of intermittent sleep, planted me in complete surreality. There were moments walking from my dorm down to the shop where I thought, is this really happening? Is today really Thursday? or is it still Friday? Or did time completely stop?

The world doesn’t need a psychotic, sleep-deprived, emaciated Kayla. But it does need all-nighters to get shit handled.

C’est la vie,
Chappie

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amrita said, on June 8, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    I’m a student of Architecture…and boy are we big-time nocturnes! :-)
    I’ve lost count of the number of all-nighters we’ve pulled for the last five years….its fun though when you know that 30 other students are doing the same thing at the same time….


Leave a Reply

