from such great heights

the not-so-fresh start.

Posted in life by chapwoman on April 1, 2008

“Mighty things from small beginnings grow.” -John Dryden

Okay, so the first day of Spring Qtr didn’t go as well as I was hoping for, but whatever. It’s one of those facts of life that the dice roll the way they’re meant to roll.

I can deal with a 7 a.m. speech class, but I’m not exactly sure how my body’s gonna take it when I start substituting coffee for a real breakfast. My body LOVES breakie, so I don’t know how long I can fool my digestive system. We’ll see. I won’t find out whether I got into physics until Monday at noon and everyone knows how much I love this kind of anticipation…joy. I am venturing into another quarter of architecture history, since last quarter wasn’t difficult at all, but I’m still not sure when I’m gonna take it: morning or afternoon? Again, we’ll see. Marc really just kinda shuts down his speaking skills for the afternoon section, so I’m pretty sure 9-11 a.m. is gonna be for me. But with class from 7-11, where will I fit breakfast in? Give me a break…it’s a legit concern.

In general, I felt really out of it today. It definitely didn’t feel like a fresh start for the quarter. Maybe it’s because today’s Tuesday & not Monday? Maybe it’s because I didn’t wake up to Freeby or Wiley in architecture like every other quarter so far? Hopefully tomorrow will be a better predicament and hopefully I’ll feel a little more comfortable in my skin.

Ironically (and on a completely different note), I feel more comfortable in my skin than I have since July. Why exactly? Haha, I’m rockin’ the blonde again. It’s really funny how something like that makes me feel more at home with myself. My attitude seriously feels way lighter than usual and I seriously feel more confident when talking to other people. I don’t know, but when you look in the mirror and don’t recognize yourself (like I did with my short brown hair), you lose touch with yourself completely. If you think I’m crazy, you obviously haven’t had a makeover. I’ll miss the soft brunette locks, but it feels so good to look like Chappie again.

C’est la vie,
Chappie

ps. I so could use another week in palm springs. Oh man, oh man.
pss. download MGMT’s “Time to Pretend.” This song has been rocking my socks, and I’m sure it will rock yours too.

Leave a Reply

