from such great heights

oh Seacrest, how you make me laugh

Posted in life by chapwoman on March 20, 2008

“If a man insisted on always being serious, and never allowed himself a bit of fun and relaxation, he would go mad or become unstable without knowing it.” -Herodotus Two finals (health & arch history) patiently await me tomorrow, but for now, I’m DONE studying. After beating my brain with information about four kinds of cancers, the buildings Le Vau designed during Louis XIV’s reign, and the dangers of I-don’t-even-know-how-many illegal drugs, I’m exhausted. Done. It’s all in God’s hands now. To prevent my brain from frying, watching American Idol has become my ideal study break. With my petite 19″ TV in repair at Best Buy, I’ve become a fan of this no-commercial business that the internet offers. FYI: the “hour-long” program on FOX is actually only 42 minutes. Now I’m not a loyal fan of the show or anything, although I love Simon Cowell, but I remember seeing commercials during the Superbowl of this year’s extra-ordinary talent. And so far, I’m impressed. I watched the entire first season, parts of the second, and as every year of Idol continued, I watched less and less with what I thought was a busy high school schedule. Puh-lease. What I’ve realized after watching this seventh season as compared to the first season of Kelly Clarkson & Justin Guarini, is that 1) the judges have some serious issues, 2) performers struggle a LOT more with song choice than they used to, and 3) Ryan Seacrest has become a fictional character. Okay. To start with the judges: Randy Jackson is in the midst of a SERIOUS mid-life crisis with his blatant need to act 20 years younger than he really is. He’s latching onto the phrase, “Juss keepin’ it real,” which is now considered outdated slang and the guy’s about to hit 50. C’mon dude, there’s nothing wrong with proper English grammar. And Paula? The woman has GOT to be on at least 3 different medications because all she does is “blah blah blah blah blah….blah,” or reword exactly what Randy said (usually in the form of “blah blah blah blah blah”). Simon is still Simon (yay). The crowd this time around likes to boo him a lot more than they used to. You’d figure that 7 years into this show that people would expect him to be brutally honest, but I guess the audience thinks that booing is a novel idea. I personlly appreciate Mr. Cowell’s honesty. The performers this season, however, are top-notch. Sure some of them have the problem of choosing the “wrong song for their voices,” but can you really expect a 17-year-old girl from the country to know exactly which song suits her voice? My predictions for winner are David Archuleta or Carly (the Irish girl). What really gets me pumped to watch the show, is Ryan Seacrest’s announcement, “Hello. [pause] I’m Ryan Seacrest, and this….is AmERican Idol.” And the music cues in. That intro is overly theatrical and extremely fun to imitate; it’s all about the tone in his voice that just makes him seem so fake…haha. Listening to his radio-show on my way to school last year, I just figured he feigned his voice to sound more interesting, but no. He just speaks with a seemingly rehearsed voice. Haha, whatever…I’ve adopted the ritual of announcing the show with him (in his tone) at the start of every episode. Hey, if Ryan ever gets sick…an understudy is available. The show is really entertaining to watch for all the above reasons and I have a feeling that after this season, our music industry will have not just one, but a couple new voices to throw into the mix. Watch for yourself: http://www11.alluc.org/alluc/tv-shows.html?lang=en&view=catSearch&sWord=american+idol Maybe I’ll forget who wrote L’encyclopedie tomorrow, or what helper T-cells do for the immune response, but I will remember what David Archuletto sang on Tuesday. lol C’est la vie, Chappie

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What's wrong with that? said, on March 17, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    Randy Jackson has been in the music biz forever. Why should he change and become stodgy just because years have passed? I take it you are a young thing – just wait until you hit your 40’s and don’t feel any different but are expected to somehow act different just because some years have gone by. I don’t understand…


Leave a Reply

