from such great heights

mmm, I love the smell of fresh laundry.

Posted in life by chapwoman on February 24, 2008

“I believe you should live each day as if it is your last, which is why I don’t have any clean laundry. Because, come on, who wants to wash clothes on the last day of their life?”

Today was one of those Sundays when the skies were cloudy and gray, the hallways were dark in the dorms, and nobody was up and about like usual weekends. It was definitely the kind of Sunday when you just catch up on things you neglect in life. Like cleaning. Cleaning underneath the bed, cleaning the floors, cleaning clothes.

Yep. Sunday is designated Laundry Day. For some reason, clothes never get cleaned during the week, Saturday is too fun to think about the dirty hamper in the closet, so Sunday is always the last resort.

This morning after church, I checked the Laundry Room (which consists of 4 washers and 4 dryers for a dorm of 220 residents) and luckily found two of the four washers to be open. So I rushed to my room, grabbed the Tide and Cottonelle, and dragged a humongous load of dirtiness down the hall. I seriously didn’t realize how many dirty clothes I’d been stashing the past few weeks; today was the first time I’ve had to stuff the darks into the machine. Maybe I should do this more often? The sad part is, I still had an entire wardrobe hanging in the closet to last me the rest of the quarter….ay ay ay, I love being a girl.

So after I packed the two washers with darks and whites (yes, I’m smart enough to separate the loads) I pulled out my Tide and uh oh. It felt WAY too light for even half a load…poured it out, and yup. all gone . So I trudged BACK down the hall & dug to the dark corner of my room where I store the spare detergent and finished loading my dollar’s worth.

Waited 38 minutes.

And I was on a roll today because one of the dryers was empty. Understand that the dryers are NEVER empty. Somehow, people dry more clothes than they wash? And the task of transferring damp & cold clothes across the room to the dryers is basically a guessing game of “how many socks will I drop on my way?” Today it was about 8 socks and 4 panties. Not my best effort, I have to say. But I finally shoved both loads into one machine, feeling more accomplished drying than with washing, thanks to the whites & colors option.

And waited 60 minutes.

It’s important that you get back to the Laundry Room within a minute of your load being done, because if you don’t, you’ll be unpleasantly surprised to find your entire pile thrown on the table (or floor, if someone’s having a bad day) and completely wrinkly. And again, I was on a ROLL because I got back right when the dryer stopped flipping.

And folding is the climax of my laundry experience because a friend of mine taught me how to fold T-shirts in record time.

About two hours of my day were dedicated to doing laundry, part of why today was the Ultimate Cleaning Sunday. Sometimes it’s just necessary to have days like today, a time to take care of the chores you neglect throughout the week (or weeks…).

Yay for lazy Sundays & fresh laundry,
Chappie

Leave a Reply

